Awards for 2010
President’s Award for Service to the Centre
Observatory Planning Committee

2010_service_to_centreThis award goes to a large group of individuals that have greatly contributed to the Centre over many years. Some of these people have moved on to other projects, many are still on the committee and are still making contributions today. Without their hard work and dedication and literally hundreds of hours of volunteer time, our observatory would not be the fine example of public outreach that it is today. This year the President’s award for Service to the Centre goes to the Observatory Planning Committee. I would ask Massimo Torri to come up to accept this plaque on behalf of everyone that has ever served on the Observatory Planning Committee. All those in the audience that served on this committee in the past and still serve on it today, please stand up so that our club can recognize your contributions.

Awards for 2009
President’s Award for Service to the Centre
Bruce McCurdy

2009_service_to_centreIn the fine tradition of previous Presidents, I too have gone behind the backs of my own committee for this award. Although the committee had chosen an excellent candidate, I thought this person must receive this award this year. This individual has served on Council in just about every position there is, has served on just about every committee Council created and has been to just about every event the centre has hosted. The only time this individual has missed an event was when he was out of town. Everyone knows him, as he is actively involved in both the Club and the Observatory. I am speaking of Bruce McCurdy. After 21 years of serving on Council, Bruce has decided to step down from his Council duties to make way for fresh ideas from new members of the Club. His input and experience will be missed at Council. It is my honour to present Bruce with the President’s Award for Service to the Centre and to also present to him a token of our appreciation by giving him two tickets to the January 22nd Oilers game against the Dallas Stars. Hopefully the Oilers will win this game in your honour, Bruce.

Awards for 2008
President’s Award for Service to the Centre
Orla Aaquist

2008_service_to_centreI started my term as president with a mutiny so it only seems fitting that I end it with a mutiny. For this award, the Award Committee had selected a potential candidate. I had someone else in mind. So I went behind the back of my own committee and chose the recipient of this award. The person I chose rather reluctantly joined Council several years ago. Despite his reluctance, he jumped into the duties rather than just slacking off until the term ended. He also signed up for several committees (including Black Nugget Lake Observatory, By-Laws, Web Site, and International Year of Astronomy committees) and even as chair for some and took on additional portfolio duties when there were obvious gaps in crucial spots. He has put much time and effort into making sure these committees and portfolios achieved their objectives. And despite the many frustrations he encountered in the process, he always seems to have a quip from his deadpan sense of humour at the ready.

So with a hearty har har, the President’s Award for Service to the Centre goes to Orla Aaquist.

Past Award Recipients
President’s Award for Service to the Centre
1979 to Present

The President’s Award for Service to the Centre was first awarded in 1979.

  • 2019 Larry Wood
  • 2018 Alister Ling
  • 2017 Luca Vanzella
  • 2016 Jay Lavender
  • 2015 Cornelia Blunck
  • 2014 Franklin Loehde
  • 2013 Frank Florian
  • 2012 Susan and Richard Bramm
  • 2011 Not Awarded
  • 2010 Observatory Planning Committee
  • 2009 Bruce McCurdy
  • 2008 Orla Aaquist
  • 2007 Paul Campbell & Sherry Campbell
  • 2006 Cornelia Blunck
  • 2005 Richard Vanderberg
  • 2004 Ed Newcombe
  • 2003 Roman Unyk & Dave Robinson
  • 2002 Don Brown
  • 2001 Larry Wood
  • 2000 Mel Rankin
  • 1999 Franklin Loehde
  • 1998 Terry Nonay
  • 1997 Betty Rankin
  • 1996 Howard Gibbins
  • 1995 Bruce McCurdy
  • 1994 Frank Florian
  • 1993 Bob Drew
  • 1992 Randy Pakan
  • 1991 Sylvia Smith
  • 1990 Karen Gray
  • 1989 Russ Sampson
  • 1988 George Moores, Jackie Hildreth, Mike Moores
  • 1987 Franklin Loehde
  • 1986 Yni Ebbers
  • 1985 Tony Whyte
  • 1984 Mel Rankin
  • 1983 Alan Dyer
  • 1982 Doug Hube
  • 1981 Audrey Loehde
  • 1980 Alan Dyer
  • 1979 Paul Deans