Awards for 2017
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Luca Vanzella

This year’s project of the year is impressive, even if it only technically only encompasses half a year. Luca Vanzella’s Sunrise Azimuth Sweep is a composite image taken from the same location over a period of half a year showing how the azimuthal location of Sunrise changes from North-East at the Summer Solstice, East at the Fall Equinox, and South-East at Winter Solstice. The composite also includes a composite for each of the 3 days showing the path of the Sun as it rises showing the shallow path in the winter compared to the steeper path in summer. I keep on looking at this image and keep on learning from it! It’s truly remarkable, original, and beautiful.

Awards for 2016
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
BNLO Committee

The RASC Edmonton Centre’s has owned a member-built 18” Newtonian telescope since 1988. For many years, the telescope saw a great deal of use by members and was used extensively for public outreach events. However, in recent years the telescope was little used and sat in our storage locker. In 2016, the re-energized Black Nugget Lake Observatory (BNLO) Committee proposed a project to relocate the Club 18” telescope to the BNLO sea can to enable it to be used by Centre members at a dark site. The project was executed by the BNLO Committee with skill and enthusiasm in five months, in time for the Northern Prairie Star Party, where the telescope was dedicated as the Barry Arnold Memorial Telescope. I have since used the BAMT a couple of times and it is certainly a joy to drive out to a dark site where a large, already assembled telescope awaits star light.

The process for a dark site observatory originally started in 2005 when the BNLO pitch was first made to Beaver County Council. Including the time before that to get the original go ahead from Edmonton RASC Council, it’s taken one Jupiter year to get BNLO up and running with a telescope (which sounds a lot better than 12 Earth years!). This project has produced a fine result that nicely complements the previous work of dedicated RASC members over the years in building previous incarnations of this telescope and in preparing the BNLO site. And there is more to come.

I am happy and grateful to present the 2016 Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year award to the BNLO Committee: Warren Finlay (chair), Susan & Rick Bramm, Kent Martens, and Roman Unyk.

Awards for 2015
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Paul Campbell

2015_project_of_the_year_awardOn Dec 7, 2014 this member posted his first solar image to the Astro List. It was start of a sustained project to photograph the Sun and map the positions and measure the sizes of solar features, in particular filaments. The project involved not only photographing the Sun but developing software to overlay a grid on the solar disk for positioning. Over the months of 2015, his processing of solar images improved steadily and he routinely posted many fine H-alpha images of the Sun, showing sunspots, active regions, prominences, filaproms, and even sequences of solar flares in progress. By October, he began posting videos of dynamic solar features in addition to near daily images. On Jan 2, 2016 he posted his year-in-review article summarizing the findings of 81 imaging sessions and measurements of 962 filament observations and the beginnings of a butterfly diagram for filaments. To me, this was a great project contributing to solar imaging and software to interpret the data embedded in the images, all reported on Astro as it progressed. I am happy to present the 2015 Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year award to Paul Campbell.

Awards for 2014
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Luca Vanzella

2014 Franklin Loehde Project - Luca VanzellaThis was the easiest award to figure out this year. The persevering effort behind this task was nothing short of fabulous. Given the amount of time we’ve spent either face to face or on the phone together over the past couple years, I’m not sure how he had time to do it…but then he is semi-retired (or so it seems), so that gives one all kinds of time….right? In any case, his analemma is a great accomplishment and I am happy to present the Franklin Loehde award for project of the year award to Luca Vanzella.

Awards 2013
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Light Pollution Abatement Committee

Bruce McCurdy, Dave Robinson, Sherrilyn Jahrig & Doug Hube

2013_projectThe efforts of the Light Pollution Abatement Committee, over the last number of years, started with meeting after meeting with the City, numerous discussions held at Centre meetings and many more over juice, coffee, and beer with other stakeholders. Many presentations and points were made with generally good reception from the audience. All this time and effort culminated in the City of Edmonton Transportation Committee finally passing the new city lighting policy last summer. As you may have seen in many neighbourhoods around town, new lighting is being installed and slowly this will make a difference.

Awards for 2010
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Michael Ward

This individual’s project has been ongoing for the past two years and you can view the results of such dedication and long hours on the website. Being a former Editor myself, I understand the work involved in producing each issue. To go above and beyond that to upload every issue of Stardust that he can find to the website is a project worthy of recognition. This year’s Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year goes to Michael Ward.

Awards for 2008
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Web Page Committee

2008_project_of_the_year_1 Of all the projects underway in the past year, some were only in the early planning stages and others were either complete or have already been recognized by this award. There was one where a significant effort was put in by a group of people over the past couple of years with the results of this effort being presented to the membership early last year. In this case the project was one of re-design and re-building and I’ve heard many comments complimenting the results.

2008_project_of_the_year_2In recognition of the efforts put in to create the new design and organization of our web page I’d like to present the Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year to the Web Page Committee chaired by Howard Gibbins and with (in alphabetical order) Orla Aaquist, Harris Christian, Patrick Earl, Mark MacDonald, Bruce McCurdy, and Luca Vanzella as members.

Past Award Recipients
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
2003 to Present

The Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year was first awarded in 2003.

  • 2017 Luca Vanzella
  • 2016 BNLO Committee
  • 2015 Paul Campbell
  • 2014 Luca Vanzella
  • 2013 Light Pollution Abatement Committee
  • 2012 2012 General Assembly Committee
  • 2011 Not Awarded
  • 2010 Michael Ward
  • 2009 Buzzard Coulee Meteorite Search Teams
  • 2008 Web Page Committee
  • 2007 Dave Robinson & Roman Unyk
  • 2006 Sherrilyn Jahrig
  • 2005 Warren Finlay
  • 2004 Sherry Campbell
  • 2003 Warren Finlay