Awards for 2010
President’s Award for Service to the Centre
Observatory Planning Committee

2010_service_to_centreThis award goes to a large group of individuals that have greatly contributed to the Centre over many years. Some of these people have moved on to other projects, many are still on the committee and are still making contributions today. Without their hard work and dedication and literally hundreds of hours of volunteer time, our observatory would not be the fine example of public outreach that it is today. This year the President’s award for Service to the Centre goes to the Observatory Planning Committee. I would ask Massimo Torri to come up to accept this plaque on behalf of everyone that has ever served on the Observatory Planning Committee. All those in the audience that served on this committee in the past and still serve on it today, please stand up so that our club can recognize your contributions.

Awards for 2010
Observer of the Year Award
Patrick Heinz

This individual has been with the club for a few years and has distinguished himself as an avid observer. Many cold nights when I would stay home, he was out at Blackfoot wondering where the rest of us were. He advises the rest of the observers on interesting news items via Astro and freely offers advice to those looking for information on astronomy, buying telescopes or observing. He is also heavily into observing double stars. The Observer of the Year for 2010 is Patrick Heinz.

Awards for 2010
Bryce Heartwell Memorial Award for Excellence in Astroimaging
Darryl Aitchison

2010_astro_imager This individual is brand new to the club and already shows great promise with astrophotography. Considering that he does not use auto guiders or laptops for taking photos, but rather everything is done manually and he has only been imaging since October of 2010, the results are amazing. I expect great things from this individual and I am sure the club will be dazzled by his images as he only gets better. The Bryce Heartwell Memorial Award for Astrophotographer of the Year is Darryl Aitchison.

Awards for 2010
George Moores Memorial Award for
Excellence in Public Education
Colin Peart

2010_public_educationThis individual has taken on the daunting task of creating a brand new astronomy club for Camrose. Such an endeavour is time consuming, very impressive and shows a real commitment to public education. He has already put on a couple of public star nights in Camrose and even though the club is in its fledgling stages, I am sure that with this individual at the helm, the club will grow over the years. This year’s George Moores Award for Excellence in Public Education goes to Colin Peart.

Awards for 2010
Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year
Michael Ward

This individual’s project has been ongoing for the past two years and you can view the results of such dedication and long hours on the website. Being a former Editor myself, I understand the work involved in producing each issue. To go above and beyond that to upload every issue of Stardust that he can find to the website is a project worthy of recognition. This year’s Franklin Loehde Award for Project of the Year goes to Michael Ward.